Yes We Can

Today has been a scary emotional whirlwind for me and everyone else I know. I’ve vacillated from not being able to focus (I’m sorry but Italian’s HARD when your brain’s not in this country) to then being snappy and then unreasonably sad. I spent the better part of this afternoon soothing my nerves with a strong mix of Yes We Can (Hold Babies), The West Wing, and peanut butter straight off the spoon (thankyouthankyouthankyou, Claire). Tonight I’m going to buy a blank t-shirt and some sharpies and get creative. After dinner with my family I’ll go to a pub to meet some friends, hold their hands, and watch the results roll in during the wee hours.

I was stopped by a few lost American tourists this afternoon while I was on my way to lunch. I pointed them toward the shop they were looking for, insisted that they walk through the centro and stop at the Duomo (even though it’s pouring today), then asked them how they were feeling. At first they didn’t know what I meant. When I then said, “Well, it’s election day,” they laughed a little and said, “We’ve got it in the bag, it’s going to be just fine.” We smiled at one another as I’m sure only a few lost, wet, stranded-in-Italy Americans could on election day. I started to walk away, headed once more toward lunch, but was stopped by a hand on my shoulder. I turned around to see one of the women from the group, a lady from Minnesota, standing there. “If you were at home and were voting today, who would you be voting for?” she asked me with raised eyebrows and an air of glee about her. I replied, “I cast my ballot a month ago and I definitely voted for Obama.” She raised both hands in the air, did a tiny victory dance, then smiled and nodded at me before continuing on her way.

1 Comment

Filed under Experiences Abroad in Italy

One response to “Yes We Can

  1. a.j.mount

    Why is it that the second anyone leaves the country they crave peanut butter like their head’s going to fall off?

Leave a Reply

